Portland

Something funny is that if you are talking with a Spanish person and you say “Portland”, for sure he/she will say: Cemento Portland! Everybody knows that Portland is a city, but it is more common to relate the name with a cement company.  I was checking in Wikipedia and apparently “Portland cement” is the most common type, and probably for that reason the Navarra company chose that name. But sorry, If you are looking for information about cement, sorry this is not your place.

Nor is this post a post to talk about the tv show Portlandia, that now everyone is talking about, and a lot of people around me are watching.

So, why did I decide to write about Portland? Well it is simple, this is a travel blog, come on! My intention is to speak about the city of Portland , Oregon, where I went one month ago.

Picture 683 Starting I need to say that Portland was a great surprise. Since I have lived in  San Francisco I have heard about Portland; a lot of people say that it is a very  good city, but even so I didn’t think that I would enjoy it at that level. I liked it a  lot!

 I need to say that our visit was very short. It was only from Friday to Sunday,  but even though it was a short trip, it was a very good weekend. I feel that I want  to spend more time there, and that feeling is always a good thing. If you want to  repeat the experience it means that it was a good one, right? Really, if you want  to take a break in your routine, and you are looking for a quiet but stimulating  place, Portland is your city. I highly recommend that weekend break.

 When I am planning a trip I usually check on the Internet, first I search on the  main website and later I prefer to read blogs and to find information from “real  people”, directly. Recently I have started to use another way to find good tips  and information about the place that I am planning to visit. For example, this  time, when I was looking for information and what to do in Portland I checked Foursquare and Yelp (free advertisement…) That is a new habit before my trips, but I need to say that is very useful and very convenient for this kind of short break, and also fun. With those tools you can find the best restaurant and the most emblematic places.

So, after that search, I made a list with the most important things to do, and the list is not very long, because Portland is not a big city, but I think it is good to have a reference and ideas about what to do.

I don’t want to spend a lot of time explaining each place, because you will find more and better information looking on the Internet, but I want to tell you some places that I liked a lot, and highlight some details.

– Multnomah Falls: The best that you can do is rent a car (zipcar if you have it) and go to these falls located just a 30 minute drive outside of Portland. They are fantastic! if you enjoy hiking, don’t lose the opportunity to do some trail.

Picture 724

– Saturday Market (and Skidmore Fountin): For sure the most popular place.   You can find whatever you think, starting from hippies bracelet until soap or    chocolate-popcorn.

– Museum of Contemporary Craft: Contemporary art always is weird if you are an  amateur, but is perfect for a rainy day…then is good always!

– Arcade: That place is amazing, my tip: Have change and be ready to comeback to adolescence. If you come before 6pm you won’t drink, but after that time open bar.

– Old town: walk, walk, walk…

– Voodoo Doughnut: The line was to long for us, I we didn’t try these famous doughnut, but I think I need to talk about, because clearly it is one of the most emblematic places in the city. You will see a lot of people carrying a big box from  here.

2 thoughts on “Portland

Leave a Reply

